Circle of Leadership

PattiJoy Posan – President

When her heart and soul called her to a different type of service, PattiJoy became actively involved in the founding of The Episcopal Community, and found her place among these women as they grow together and follow the Rule of St Benedict.

She has served as National Secretary for 3 years, Vice President and for 6 years and on July 11th was installed as the National President of The Episcopal Community.

In her spare time, she is the Executive Director of SPCK/USA, the oldest Anglican mission agency, and the “administrator” for the Southeast Tennessee Episcopal Ministry.

Chris Butterworth, Vice President & Spiritual Formation Chair

Through a good friend Chris learned of The Episcopal Community. She liked the book that the study is based upon, enjoyed the study and was installed as a member. She has served as the Spiritual Formation Chair since 2017 and Treasurer since 2018. She loves the friendships she have made through the Community and have grown spiritually as a result.

Chris lives in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina.

Lorna McDonald, Secretary

In October of 2017, Lorna finally completed my studies to become a member of The Episcopal Community.  The Episcopal Community is personal joy for me.  

Lorna loves teaching church school.   She has served as a vestry member many times has been a delegate to the Episcopal Dioceses of Eastern Michigan since its inception (1996).

Merry Keyser, National Treasurer & Chairs of Finance & Governance

Merry became interested in Benedictine Spirituality while taking the EfM course and helped to found a Benedictine Spirituality group in the Diocese of East Tennessee. When hearing about The Episcopal Community she knew she had found a spiritual home. She and her husband have recently moved to Franklin, Tennessee where her church home is The Church of the Resurrection.

Merry has many years of experience with her financial and management expertise both as a volunteer in her church and in her community. She has traveled extensively mentoring international students. She now looks forward to using her varied experiences with The Episcopal Community as the National Treasurer.

Barbara Willis, COL and Birthday Card Ministry

Barbara graces our Sunday evening Compline service with her beautiful smile and soothing voice! She has served a variety of ministries within the Episcopal Church over the years. She says her gifts are being open minded and enabling others to be heard, and she is already using these talents as a Mentor in The Episcopal Community.

Barbara is a lay Eucharistic minister, reader and chalice bearer in her church, St Mark’s, where she also co-manages the gift shop. She has served as past president to ECW in her church and a deanery and diocesan United Thank Offering coordinator.

Kathleen Nyhuis, COL Member

Kathleen is a faithful member of St Mark’s Cathedral in Seattle. She has served in a variety of ministries within the Episcopal Church over the years. She sees among her gifts: administration, writing, listening, willingness to do things in new way, encouragement and mercy. She has been membership chairperson of The Episcopal Community and serves her church as a Eucharistic visitor and in prayer ministry. She is committed to doing “what I can as best be for The Episcopal Community.”

Nancy Young, Past President & Advisor

Nancy came to the Episcopal Church as an adult. She fell in love with the liturgy; the Eucharist; the homilies centered on love, grace, and forgiveness. As a literature major, I felt at home amongst the ritual, the symbolism, the appeal to the senses (“smells and bells”), the embracing of mystery, and the acceptance of divergent thought.

In 2010, seeking deeper spiritual growth, she became a founding member of The Episcopal Community and its Circle of Leadership.

The Rt. Rev. Philip M. Duncan II, Chaplain

Retired Bishop of the Diocese of the Central Gulf Coast, was consecrated on May 12, 2001.  Previously, he served as Dean and Rector of Saint Matthew’s Cathedral in Dallas (1993 – March 2001). St. Matthew’s is an urban congregation in the inner city of Dallas with 2,100 baptized members and 1,500 communicants.  Prior to his time as Dean, Bishop Duncan served as rector of St. John’s Church, Clearwater, Florida, from 1972 to 1993 and curate of Christ Church, Ridgewood, New Jersey, from 1970 to 1972.Bishop Duncan earned his Bachelor’s degree in history from Baldwin Wallace College in Berea, Ohio.  He received the Bachelor of Sacred Theology and Master of Divinity degrees from The General Theological Seminary in New York City and Doctor of Ministry in evangelism from Virginia Theological Seminary in Alexandria, Virginia.  He was honored by The General Theological Seminary, The University of the South, and Virginia Theological Seminary, by their granting Doctor of Divinity degrees. He has been married to Kathlyn Anne Cowie (Kathy), a registered nurse and school nurse teacher, since 1970. They have two sons, Andrew Gray and Ian James,


Finance – Merry Keyser, Chair

Governance – Merry Keyser, Chair

Membership – Melodie Rowland
Barbara Willis, Birthday Card Ministry

Spiritual Formation – Chris Butterworth, Becky Taylor

Communications – Barbara Harris, webmaster, editor, Discerning Hearts
Lorna McDonald, Prayer List

Worship – Becky Taylor, Cynthia Sand

GC81 – Becky Taylor, Chair

For additional information contact:
The Episcopal Community
PO Box 242
Sewanee, TN 37375

Pay Your Annual Membership